International Law

Munich Advanced Course in International Law 2013

“Challenges in International Institutional Law”
August 3 - 16, 2013


Niels Blokker
Professor of International Institutional Law at Leiden University, senior legal counsel at the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs, member of the Netherlands delegation to the PrepCom for the International Criminal Court.

Erika de Wet
Professor of International Constitutional Law: Department of Public International Law, Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands;  Co-Director of the  Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa, Faculty of Law, University of Pretoria, South Africa.

Sven Gareis
German Deputy Dean, George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Professor at the Institute for Political Science at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität, Münster.

Frank Hoffmeister
Professor at the Institute for European Studies at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Deputy Head of Cabinet in Commissioner De Gucht's Cabinet (international trade), formerly  member of the “External Relations” Team at the European Commission’s Legal Service.

Tobias H. Irmscher
Lawyer, Principal Directorate Patent Law and Multilateral Affairs of the European Patent Office, Munich, previously member of the Institutional Law & litigation team of the European Patent Office's Legal Services and research and teaching assistant at the Institute of International and European Law at the University of Würzburg.

Geir Ulfstein
Professor of International Law at the Department of Public and International Law at the University of Oslo, former Director of the Norwegian Center for Human Rights, University of Oslo (2004-2008), member of the Executive Board of the European Society of International Law.

Christian Walter
Professor of International Law, Director of the Chair of Public Law and Public International Law at the University of Munich

Andreas R. Ziegler
Professor at the Centre of Comparative, European and International Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of Lausanne, Former Delegate to the OECD, WTO and UNCTAD of the Swiss Government, Former Investment and Services Officer of the EFTA Secretariat